• Home
  • About the Project

About the Project

The National Byway® is a 3,200 miles (5,150km.) sign-posted leisure cycling route, around England and parts of Wales and Scotland. The National Byway® journeys through the natural environment, providing discreet sign-posted direction along some of the most attractive and peaceful rural lanes. In addition to the main route, there are 60 one-day circular loop rides.

The National Byway® passes through 42 counties as it meanders through the countryside. It visits 120 market towns, hundreds of rural communities and more than 800 places of interest along the way, including 6 World Heritage Sites, 4 national parks, all providing a reason to ride. Route details and information about places of interest can be found on the informative Byway maps that are for sale here.

The National Byway® has been developed for the use of the burgeoning UK cycling market. Sixteen million adults from across the social spectrum are bicycle owners, 24 million young people already own bicycles and are potential users. Ownership is predicted to continue to grow by 10% per annum. When completed, the Byway will be within one hour’s journey of 65% of the population. It also provides an ideal destination for thousands of international cycle-tourists who visit the UK each year.

The National Byway® has the full support of Government and the local authorities through which it passes.

  • Usage is already developing:

    TNB Usage image

    A pilot quantitative user survey carried out in the East Midlands indicates that 15,000 cycle journeys took place on one section of the route in one year, on quiet roads previously little used by cyclists;

  • The rural economy also benefits:

    TNB The Rural Economy image

    By more than £100 million per year when the route is complete and 800 jobs will be created;

  • A Ranger programme is planned:

    TNB Ranger Programme image

    To set up and develop partnerships and increase the sense of community ownership along the route.

So whatever the reason, wherever and however far you want to go, The National Byway® is the place to ride: peace and quiet, meandering rural lanes in lovely countryside and fascinating places to visit along the way.

Contact Form

Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.
%d bloggers like this: